+91 20 26613832 / 26613855 wiseinfo@wisein.org

WISE initiated and organized India’s first-ever conference and exhibition series focused on wind power in 2006. Titled ‘Wind India 2006’, the conference was held from 22-23 August 2006 at Le Meridien, Pune. The main objectives of the conference were to create increased awareness on wind power and facilitate knowledge sharing in the business-to-government (B2G) and government-to-government (G2G) space.

The conference was inaugurated by the Hon. Minister of Non-Conventional Energy, Government of Maharashtra, Vinay Kore, in the presence of V Subramanian, Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), Government of India; Tulsi Tanti, CMD, Suzlon Energy Limited; Mohan Dharia, Former Dy. Chairman, Planning Commission, Government of India; and G M Pillai, Founder Director General, WISE. The Honourable Minister also released the special conference issue of Green Energy, WISE’s bimonthly publication on the theme ‘Wind Power Development in India’. The valedictory address was given by Dr. Pramod Deo, Chairman, Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission.

As part of the conference, WISE initiated the first-of-its-kind ‘Wind India Awards’ with the aim to recognize and encourage best performing sector players in 11 different categories. The conference featured over 40 speakers from the national and international arena and was attended by over 200 delegates and more than 20 exhibitors from the wind sector, including wind turbine manufacturers, equipment suppliers, service providers, investors, financiers, technology consultants, policy makers, regulators and media. The conference received extensive coverage in the media and huge support from the industry.

Wind Power India 2006
Vinay Kore, Hon. Minister for Non-Conventional Energy, GoM (third from right), seen releasing WISE’s latest book, ‘Wind Power Development in India at the Inaugural Session. Also seen (from L to R), G M Pillai, Director General, WISE; Tulsi Tanti, CMD, Suzlon Energy Ltd; V Subramanian, Secretary, MNES, GoI; Padmavibhushan Dr. Mohan Dharia, Former Dy. Chairman, Planning Commission, GoI, and President, Vanarai, Pune; and Rajendra Kharul, Fellow, WISE, and Organising Secretary, Wind India 2006.
Wind Power India 2006
Hon. Minister for Non-conventional Energy, Government of Maharashtra, Vinay Kore (second from left), seen visiting a stall at the ‘Wind India 2006’, exhibition.